Perth Darts Masters Added To World Series Of Darts Calendar


AUSTRALIA is to host a second World Series of Darts event in August, with the Perth Darts Masters to be held from August 22-24 at the Challenge Stadium in Perth.

The 16-player tournament will feature eight PDC stars and eight Australian Qualifiers competing across three days.

The move comes following the success of the inaugural Sydney Darts Masters in 2013, with that event to continue a week after the World Series of Darts makes its Perth debut.

A hotbed of Australian darts, Perth regularly stages tournaments on the DPA’s Australian Grand Prix circuit, while brothers Kyle and Beau Anderson also hail from the region and won through to both the Sydney Darts Masters and World Championship last year.

The 2014 World Series of Darts will kick off with the Dubai Duty Free Darts Masters on May 29-30, with the Perth Darts Masters to be followed from August 28-30 with the Sydney Darts Masters.

“The World Series of Darts was a huge success last year in both Dubai and Sydney and it’s brilliant for the sport that we can now take the world’s top players to Perth for the biggest event ever staged in the region,” said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn.

“Australian darts has never been healthier, as shown by the success of Simon Whitlock and Paul Nicholson in recent years and Kyle Anderson’s emergence from being the top domestic talent to hitting a nine-darter in the World Championship and winning a PDC Tour Card.

“This is another great chance for players from Australia and New Zealand to compete at the top level of the sport, and is also an opportunity for fans to see the greatest names in the sport in the flesh.”

The PDC’s eight players will be the top six players from the PDC Order of Merit following the recent Coral UK Open – Michael van Gerwen, Phil Taylor, Adrian Lewis, Simon Whitlock, Peter Wright and Dave Chisnall – plus two Wildcards, who will be announced in due course.

A series of qualifying events will be staged in Perth for Oceanic players to win through to compete in the Perth Darts Masters, with information to be announced in due course.

Tickets for the Perth Darts Masters will go on sale shortly, with information to be confirmed at www.pdc.tv/tickets once finalised.

Perth Darts Masters
August 22-24, Challenge Stadium, Perth
16 players competing across three days.

Confirmed PDC Players
“Mighty” Michael van Gerwen – Reigning World Champion & Premier League Darts champion
Phil “The Power” Taylor – 16-time World Champion & 2013 Sydney Darts Masters winner
Adrian “Jackpot” Lewis – Two-time World Champion & reigning UK Open champion
Simon “The Wizard” Whitlock – 2012 European Champion and former World Championship finalist
Peter “Snakebite” Wright – 2014 World Championship finalist & two-time PDC event winner
Dave “Chizzy” Chisnall – 2013 World Grand Prix finalist & nine-time PDC event winner
Plus two Wildcards, to be announced in due course

Details of the Qualifiers will also be announced at www.pdc.tv once confirmed.

Share this via

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>